Marie-Anne DAYÉ

Marie-Anne DAYÉ

Conceptrice - Rédactrice

¡Lotería!

About twenty Guatemalan and Honduran temporary foreign workers gathered at the community center in Saint-Rémi on February 11, 2023, at the invitation of Melvin Mendez and Leticia Beita of the Oscar Romero Foundation, to play the lottery – or Mexican bingo. This fun meeting was also an opportunity to exchange information on the rights of agricultural workers.

Text and photos Marie-Anne Dayé.



A game card with 16 images, white beans and a lottery “singer”, and that’s all it takes to get the participants fired up and the tension rising. The person at the microphone draws one of the 54 cards from the deck in his or her hand, such as the mermaid, the shrimp or the moon, and the player must place a bean on the corresponding picture on his or her card. As soon as a line is formed or his card is full, depending on the rule that was established at the beginning, he must shout “¡Lotería!

 


The lottery has been a popular part of Mexican culture for over two centuries. It was played by the ruling classes of the colony (then New Spain) and became a pastime for Mexican soldiers during the War of Independence from 1810 to 1821. Since then, it has become part of the country’s traditions and is now a staple of family meals and celebrations. At the Saint-Rémi community center, workers could take advantage of their day off to play this game. It was also a way for Melvin and Leticia to bond with them.

	

For some of the workers present, this was not only their first year in Quebec, but also the first activity offered by an organization in the region in which they were participating. Others were in their eighth or tenth year in the province. With their Vision ML project, funded by the Migrant Worker Support Program, Melvin and Leticia want to reach out to as many workers as possible, to support them during their stay in Quebec: they welcome them at the airport and accompany them to the grocery store and to the hospital for translation, for example.

 



While waiting for everyone to walk through the door, the organizers took the opportunity to show videos explaining workers’ rights and to answer questions about paid overtime or pension benefits, for example. Melvin also addressed the issue of workplace injuries: “If you break your paw” – an agricultural parallel that had everyone in the room laughing – “if you break your leg, he continued, “you tell your boss you have to go to the hospital and he says no, wait until tomorrow… In that situation, you can call us.” He went on to detail the steps to be taken, including consultation with a doctor and the benefits to which the worker is entitled.

The Vision ML program will improve throughout the year according to the needs and desires of the workers, always with the same objective: to help, accompany and support migrant workers as well as to break the isolation through social activities.

 

Share :

Facebook
LinkedIn
Courriel
Imprimez

recent articles

Articles

French, a necessity for TET

There are many reasons for temporary foreign workers to learn French: to meet Quebec’s new requirements for renewing their work permits, to communicate with colleagues and employers, to socialize and

Read More »

InfoTET_Loteria2_MarieAnneDaye
Marie-Anne DAYÉ

Marie-Anne DAYÉ

Conceptrice - Rédactrice

¡Lotería!

Une vingtaine de travailleurs étrangers temporaires guatémaltèques et honduriens se sont rassemblés au centre communautaire de Saint-Rémi, le 11 février 2023, à l’invitation de Melvin Mendez et Leticia Beita de la Fondation Oscar Romero, pour jouer à la loterie – ou bingo mexicain. Cette rencontre ludique était aussi l’occasion d’échanger de l’information sur les droits des travailleurs agricoles.

Texte et photos Marie-Anne Dayé


Une carte de jeu avec 16 images, des haricots blancs et un « chanteur » de loterie, et il n’en faut pas plus pour allumer les participants et faire monter la tension. La personne au micro tire l’une des 54 cartes du paquet qu’il a dans la main, par exemple la sirène, la crevette ou la lune, et le joueur doit déposer un haricot sur l’image correspondante de sa carte. Dès qu’une ligne est formée ou que sa carte est pleine, selon la règle qui a été établie au départ, il doit crier « ¡Lotería! ».

 


La loterie est très populaire dans la culture du Mexique, depuis plus de deux siècles. Pratiquée par les classes dominantes de la colonie (qui était à l’époque la Nouvelle-Espagne), elle est devenue un passe-temps pour les soldats mexicains pendant la guerre d’indépendance, de 1810 à 1821. Depuis, elle s’est faufilée au cœur des traditions du pays et s’avère désormais un incontournable des repas et des fêtes familiales. Au centre communautaire de Saint-Rémi, les travailleurs pouvaient profiter de leur jour de repos pour s’adonner à ce jeu. C’était également un moyen pour Melvin et Leticia de créer des liens avec eux.

	

Pour quelques travailleurs présents, il s’agissait non seulement de leur première année au Québec, mais aussi la première activité proposée par un organisme de la région à laquelle ils participaient. D’autres en étaient à leur huitième ou dixième année dans la province. Avec leur projet Vision ML, financé par le Programme de soutien aux travailleurs migrants, Melvin et Leticia souhaitent rejoindre le plus de travailleurs possible, afin de les soutenir pendant leur séjour au Québec : ils les accueillent à l’aéroport et les accompagnent à l’épicerie et à l’hôpital pour de la traduction, par exemple.

 



En attendant que tous les participants franchissent la porte, les organisateurs en ont profité pour présenter des vidéos expliquant les droits des travailleurs et pour répondre à leurs questions sur les heures supplémentaires payées ou la prestation de retraite, par exemple. Melvin a aussi abordé la question des accidents de travail : « Si tu te casses la patte » – un parallèle agricole qui a fait rire tout le monde dans la salle – « si tu te casses la jambe, se reprend-t-il, tu dis à ton patron que tu dois aller à l’hôpital et qu’il te dit non, attends à demain […] Dans cette situation, tu peux nous appeler ». Il a détaillé ensuite les démarches à suivre, soit la consultation avec un médecin ainsi que les prestations auxquels le travailleur a droit.

Le programme de Vision ML se bonifiera au cours de l’année selon les besoins et les envies des travailleurs avec toujours le même objectif : aider, accompagner et soutenir les travailleurs migrants ainsi que briser l’isolement grâce à des activités sociales.

 

Partagez l'article :

Facebook
LinkedIn
Courriel
Imprimez

Articles récents