Picture of Marie-Anne DAYÉ

Marie-Anne DAYÉ

Conceptrice - Rédactrice

When basketball and TET become one!

A full day of basketball: that’s all it took to please the Montmagny MRC’s temporary foreign workers, many of whom are fans of the sport. Some sixty of them, mostly Filipinos and Madagascans, enjoyed this activity organized by the Corporation de développement de la MRC de Montmagny (CDEMM).

Text and photos Marie-Anne Dayé

In all, some sixty TFW took part in the activity, which took place at the Louis-Jacques Casault school gymnasium on November 4, 2023. “Basketball is the number 1 sport in my country,” says Sean Ferrer, a Filipino who has been working in machine operation and furniture assembly at Teknion since January 2022. He chose to come to Quebec for better salary conditions, and hopes that his wife and 8-year-old son – also a basketball fan – will be able to join him. One of the difficulties Sean faces, like many of his compatriots, is the language barrier. “I want to learn French, so I’ve started taking classes,” he says proudly.

Filipinos, after Mexicans and Guatemalans, are the most numerous temporary foreign workers in Quebec.

Knowledge of French

A new measure introduced by the government of Quebec will require temporary foreign workers to prove that they have a minimum level 4 oral proficiency in French when renewing their work permits, after having been in Quebec for more than three years. Employers, for their part, will have to meet requirements to support their employees’ learning of French. This measure will not apply to agricultural workers.

Socializing, an essential need

Chris Baldonasa, also originally from the Philippines, joined Fonderie Poitras in L’Islet six months ago as a quality controller. Previously, he held a similar position at Toyota, but his salary was very low. “It’s a cycle. You get paid, you pay expenses, that’s it. You can’t save. Here, at least, I can save about 20% of what I earn,” he says, adding that his goal is to support his family back home. As he rubs shoulders with many Filipinos at work, he finds it easier to adapt to his new reality in Quebec. Every Saturday, they get together, cook, eat, play karaoke or celebrate a birthday. For him, this basketball day is another opportunity to socialize. And it’s even better if it’s to play the national sport!

The importance of community

Miora Razafimahefa Davidson chose Quebec to develop his career internationally. Before leaving Madagascar in November 2022, he was an industrial systems engineer specializing in energy. Today, he works for Garant, a manufacturer of snow shovels, as a laborer. He feels that his work here doesn’t necessarily match up to his lofty ambitions, but that it’s a great opportunity nonetheless.

Davidson, as his friends call him, was accompanied by ten other Madagascans when he arrived, which he says made it easier for him to settle in. “Here, it’s very subway-work-sleep, not like back home,” says Davidson, who comes from the land of mora-mora (slowness, tranquility). He believes that the lifestyle is more individual in Quebec than in Madagascar. “Back home, we know our neighbors,” says the 27-year-old. He does, however, acknowledge the support of the Montmagny accueille organization (a CDEMM partner), which has been offering him help and useful information on local services since his arrival.

These sporting activities with temporary foreign workers are also conducive to the exchange of information. The InfoTET team was on hand to distribute the general information guide and answer TFW’ questions, and a CNESST prevention advisor was also on hand to chat with participants.

The project was funded by the Government of Canada.

Share :

Facebook
LinkedIn
Courriel
Imprimez

recent articles

Articles

Soccer: a universal language

Once again this year, the Corporation de développement économique de la MRC de Montmagny (CDEMM) invited the region’s TFWs to take part in an intercultural soccer tournament pitting six teams

Read More »
Articles

Employment insurance also for TFWs

Temporary foreign workers (TFWs) in Baie-Saint-Paul have applied for employment insurance benefits due to a temporary layoff by their employer. Services de main-d’œuvre l’Appui called on Service Canada to help

Read More »
Articles

Photo exhibition: the Portneuf TFWs’ journey

Accès Travail Portneuf, an organization funded by the Government of Canada’s Migrant Worker Support Program (MWSP), recently organized a photographic exhibition showcasing some of the Portneuf region’s temporary foreign workers

Read More »

Picture of Marie-Anne DAYÉ

Marie-Anne DAYÉ

Conceptrice - Rédactrice

Quand basketball et TET ne font qu’un !

Une journée entière de basketball : il n’en fallait pas plus pour faire plaisir aux travailleurs étrangers temporaires de la MRC de Montmagny, dont plusieurs sont friands de ce sport. Une soixantaine d’entre eux, pour la plupart des Philippins et des Malgaches, ont pu profiter de cette activité organisée par la Corporation de développement de la MRC de Montmagny (CDEMM).

Texte et photos Marie-Anne Dayé

Au total, une soixantaine de TET ont participé à l’activité qui s’est déroulée au gymnase de l’école Louis-Jacques Casault, le 4 novembre 2023. « Le basketball, c’est le sport numéro 1 dans mon pays ! », lance Sean Ferrer, un Philippin employé à l’opération de machines et à l’assemblage des meubles chez Teknion depuis janvier 2022. Il a choisi de venir au Québec pour avoir de meilleures conditions salariales en espérant que sa femme et son garçon de 8 ans – lui aussi amateur de basketball –, pourront le rejoindre. L’une des difficultés que Sean rencontre, comme beaucoup de ses compatriotes, est la barrière linguistique. « Je veux apprendre le français, c’est pourquoi j’ai commencé à prendre des cours », dit-il fièrement.

Les Philippins, après les Mexicains et les Guatémaltèques, sont les plus nombreux parmi les travailleurs étrangers temporaires au Québec.

Connaissance du français

Une nouvelle mesure du gouvernement du Québec exige que les travailleurs étrangers temporaires devront prouver qu’ils ont une connaissance du français de niveau 4 à l’oral au minimum lorsqu’ils voudront renouveler leur permis de travail, après avoir cumulé des autorisations de séjour de plus de trois ans au Québec. Les employeurs devront, quant à eux, répondre à des exigences pour soutenir l’apprentissage du français par leurs employés. Cette mesure ne s’appliquera pas aux travailleurs agricoles.

Socialiser, un besoin essentiel

Chris Baldonasa, lui aussi originaire des Philippines, est arrivé il y a six mois à la Fonderie Poitras, à L’Islet, en tant que contrôleur de la qualité. Auparavant, il occupait un poste similaire chez Toyota, mais le salaire qu’il touchait était très bas. « C’est un cycle. On reçoit notre paie, on paye les dépenses, c’est tout. On ne peut pas épargner. Ici, au moins, je peux épargner environ 20 % de ce que je gagne », dit-il, ajoutant que son objectif est de soutenir sa famille restée au pays. Comme il côtoie plusieurs Philippins à son travail, il trouve que l’adaptation à sa nouvelle réalité au Québec est plus facile. Chaque samedi, ils se rassemblent, cuisinent, mangent ensemble, s’adonnent au karaoké ou célèbrent un anniversaire. Pour lui, cette journée de basketball une autre occasion de socialiser. Et c’est encore mieux si c’est pour pratiquer le sport national !

L’importance de la communauté

Miora Razafimahefa Davidson, lui, a choisi le Québec dans le but de développer sa carrière à l’international. Avant son départ de Madagascar en novembre 2022, il était ingénieur de systèmes industriels spécialisé en énergie. Aujourd’hui, il travaille pour l’entreprise Garant, qui fabrique entre autres des pelles à neige, en tant que manœuvre. Il considère que son travail ici ne correspond pas nécessairement à ses grandes ambitions, mais qu’il s’agit tout de même d’une belle opportunité.

Davidson, comme l’appellent ses amis, était accompagné de dix autres Malgaches lors de son arrivée, ce qui a facilité son installation, selon lui. « Ici, c’est très métro-boulot-dodo, pas comme chez nous », dit celui qui vient du pays du mora-mora (de la lenteur, de la tranquillité). Il pense que le mode de vie est plus individuel au Québec qu’à Madagascar. « Chez nous, on connaît nos voisins ! », lance le jeune homme de 27 ans. Il reconnaît toutefois le soutien de l’organisme Montmagny accueille (partenaire de la CDEMM) qui, depuis son arrivée, lui offre de l’aide et de l’information utile sur les services offerts dans les environs.

Ces activités sportives avec les travailleurs étrangers temporaires sont aussi propices à l’échange d’informations. L’équipe d’InfoTET était sur place pour distribuer le guide d’information générale et répondre aux questions des TET, et un conseiller en prévention de la CNESST était également présent pour discuter avec les participants.

Le projet a été financé par le gouvernement du Canada.

Partagez l'article :

Facebook
LinkedIn
Courriel
Imprimez

Articles récents